Explore our department’s current work, programs, and other resources to find out what we can do for your community.

SRPEDD's Transportation Planning Department encompasses an array of planning areas, including Regional Transportation Planning, Public Transit, Bicycle & Pedestrian Networks, Transportation Infrastructure, Complete Streets, Regional Corridor Studies and more. 

The SRPEDD region is the state-designated Southeastern Massachusetts Metropolitan Planning Organization (SMMPO) in accordance with federal transportation law.  SRPEDD is the public regional planning agency established by state legislature for 27 communities and also acts as technical and support staff to the SMMPO. In cooperation with MassDOTSRPEDD is responsible for the planning and programming of all modes of transportation including highways, public transit, freight, bicycles & pedestrians. SRPEDD also provides technical assistance to our cities and towns and to the region's two transit authorities, Greater Attleboro Taunton Regional Transit Authority (GATRA) and Southeastern Regional Transit Authority (SRTA). 

The 27 communities of the SRPEDD region include the cities of Attleboro, Fall River, New Bedford and Taunton, and the towns of Acushnet, Berkley, Carver, Dartmouth, Dighton, Fairhaven, Freetown, Lakeville, Mansfield, Marion, Mattapoisett, Middleborough, North Attleborough, Norton, Plainville, Raynham, Rehoboth, Rochester, Seekonk, Somerset, Swansea, Wareham and Westport.  


Explore our Current Work, Programs, and other resources to get a sense of how we can assist your community

Featured Project

Trails Mapping Project: Learn how you can get involved.