Regional Transportation Planning

Southeastern Massachusetts Metropolitan Planning Organization

The Southeastern Massachusetts Metropolitan Planning Organization (SMMPO) is responsible for conducting the federally required metropolitan transportation planning process for the 27 communities that comprise Southeastern Massachusetts.

This planning process is often called the 3C process because it is continuing, cooperative, and comprehensive. The SMMPO uses this process to develop a vision for transportation in the region and to decide how to allocate federal and state transportation funds to transportation programs and projects that improve roadway, transit, bicycle, and pedestrian infrastructure. The vision established by the SMMPO is integral to each of the certification documents that the MPO is required to produce: the Regional Transportation Plan, Transportation Improvement Program, and Unified Planning Work Program.

Cooperatively selecting transportation programs and projects for funding the main role of the SMMPO. The 13 SMMPO members, shown below, are comprised of Mayors, state agencies, regional entities, and municipalities. The SMMPO holds elections every summer for the four municipal seats. The SRPEDD Commission, comprised of voting members from each of the 27 communities in the region, votes to elect these members. For a brief summary of the SMMPO and its responsibilities, click here.

The work of the SMMPO is performed by the SPREDD Transportation Planning Staff under the direction of the SMMPO. Throughout its work, the SMMPO promotes a strong public engagement program. In all of its programs and activities, the SMMPO complies with Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, the Americans with Disabilities Act, and other federal and state non-discrimination statutes and regulations.

Learn more about the SMMPO’s nondiscrimination policy and how to submit a complaint here.

The activities of the SMMPO are periodically reviewed by the Federal Highway Administration and the Federal Transit Administration. The latest Certification Review Report (pdf) was issued on September 27th, 2017.

Transportation planning addresses complex issues, and the Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) is an agreement to ensure that all entities and personnel involved in their jurisdiction will cooperate fully in carrying out the intent and provisions of this MOU, and any amendments or additions agreed to by the signatories.


SMMPO Members

Member Title
Secretary Monica Tibbits-Nutt, Chair MassDOT Secretary & Chief Executive Officer
Marie Clarner, Vice-Chair SRPEDD Commission Chair
Cathleen DeSimone Mayor, City of Attleboro
Paul Coogan Mayor, City of Fall River
Jon Mitchell Mayor, City of New Bedford
Shauna O'Connell Mayor, City of Taunton
Jonathan L.  Gulliver Administrator, MassDOT Highway Division
Jacob Vaught Selectman, Town of Somerset
Diane Bren Select Board, Town of Mansfield
Sarah Hewins Select Board, Town of Carver
Alan Slavin Select Board, Town of Wareham
Erik Rousseau Administrator, SRTA
Mary Ellen DeFrais Administrator, GATRA
Ex-Officio, Non Voting Members
Jeff McEwen FHWA Division Administrator
Peter Butler FTA Regional Administrator
Victoria Alfaro-Duran JTPG Chairman