SRPEDD Commission

Learn about the SRPEDD Commission and its role in the SRPEDD.

The Commission of the Southeastern Regional Planning and Economic Development District (SRPEDD) includes the chief elected officials (mayors and boards of selectmen) in SRPEDD’s 27 cities and towns (or their appointee); the region’s 27 planning boards (or their appointee); and up to six at large representative of low income and minority group interests.

The Commissioners govern the agency as a board of directors, setting policy, establishing priorities and representing their communities in regional deliberations. The commission has administrative responsibilities including electing officers, adopting the budget, appointing committees, employing the executive director and establishing the policies for employment of the staff. The SRPEDD Commission generally meets 9-10 times per year, usually on the fourth Wednesday of each month.


May 2024- May 2025 SRPEDD Commissioners

City/Town Board of Selectmen Delegate Planning Board Delegate
Acushnet James Kelley Steven Boucher
Attleboro Gary Ayrassian John Davis
Berkley Steven Leary
Carver Thomas Bott Bill Cullum
Dartmouth Chris Vitale Margaret Sweet
Dighton Jeff Carvalho
Fairhaven Andrew B. Saunders Richard F. Trapilo
Fall River Daniel N. Aguiar John Ferreira
Freetown Deborah Pettey Victoria Alfaro Duran
Lakeville Lorraine Carboni David C. Lodge
Mansfield Brendan Roche Brendan Roche
Marion Norman Hills Tucker Burr
Mattapoisett Janice Robbins
Middleborough Mark Germain Leeann Bradley
New Bedford Jamie Ponte Jennifer Carloni
North Attleborough Lyle Pirnie Marie K. Clarner, Chairman
Norton Kevin Snyder Steve Warchal
Plainville Michael Mullen Christopher Desprez
Raynham Carol Sullivan Anthony Niccoli
Rehoboth Lynn Ferreira
Rochester Paul Ciaburri Nancy Durfee
Seekonk Shawn E. Cadime Phoebe Lee Dunn
Somerset Richard Peirce Nicole McDonald
Swansea George Hovorka John P. Hansen, Jr.
Taunton Jay Pateakos William Fitzgerald, Jr.
Wareham Judith Whiteside Julie Moran
Westport Steven J. Ouellette James Whitin

At-Large Commissioners

Fred Uriot, Attleboro At-Large SRPEDD
Gloria Saddler, Fall River At-Large SRPEDD
Ashley Eaton, New Bedford At-Large SRPEDD
Tanya Lobo, Taunton At-Large SRPEDD

About At-Large Commissioners

The position of At-Large Commissioner is a unique opportunity for individuals who understand the needs of historically underrepresented minority and/or low-income populations to speak for these needs in housing and economic development planning processes, transportation investments, and other important projects in the region.

At-Large Commissioners are also official voting members on the Joint Transportation Planning Group (JTPG), the advisory group to the Southeastern Massachusetts Metropolitan Planning Organization (SMMPO) for all transportation related issues.  The JTPG meets monthly and is the forum for public involvement in transportation planning for the region.

Commission bylaws allow for up to six At-Large delegates representing low-income and minority group interests: two for the New Bedford area; two for the Fall River area; one for the Taunton area; and one for the Attleboro area. At-Large delegates, and all Commission members, shall be appointed, reappointed, or reaffirmed in May of each year, to serve for the period June 1 to May 31, but may be removed or replaced at any time by the appropriate appointing authority.

The NOMINEE must be a resident within one of the following subareas, as appropriate:

Attleboro Subarea Fall River Subarea New Bedford Subarea (2) Taunton Subarea
Attleboro Fall River New Bedford Taunton
Mansfield Freetown Acushnet Berkley
North Attleborough Seekonk Dartmouth Dartmouth
Norton Somerset Fairhaven Dighton
Plainville Swansea Marion Lakeville

The NOMINEE must be certified as a representative of a qualified low-income or minority community group in writing.

COMMUNITY GROUPS   are defined as one of the following:

  • a legal non-profit corporation or association whose members and constituents are minority and/or low income; or
  • the governing body or advisory board of a public agency whose goals are reflective of the needs of minority and low-income people.

MINORITIES   are those defined by the Economic Development Administration as:

  • Black or African American – American Indian and Alaska Native
  • Hispanic - Mexican, Puerto Rican, Other Hispanic or Latino
  • Native American - persons known by virtue of tribal associations
  • Asian - Japanese, Chinese, Korean, Filipino, Indian, Thai, Cambodian, Vietnamese
  • Other Races including Native Hawaiian & Other Pacific Islanders

LOW-INCOME   is defined according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics' minimum standard of living.

Individuals or organizations may propose via a nomination form a person to sit on the Commission, who will be nominated by a member of the Commission and confirmed by the body as a whole. Please contact us at info@srpedd.org or 508-824-1367 or share this information with your network if you are aware of qualified or interested community groups.

Click here to download the 2024-2025 SRPEDD At-Large Commission Appointment form.

Click here to download the 2024-2025 SRPEDD Commissioner Appointment form.