Economic Development

Regional Economic Strategy Committee (RESC)

The Regional Economic Strategy Committee (RESC) meets regularly at SRPEDD to discuss timely economic development trends and projects, to share insights among professionals, and to hear presentations from numerous regional partners. The RESC is also responsible for working with SRPEDD staff to update the Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy (CEDS). This meeting of state and federal officials, chamber of commerce directors, college and university representatives, and professionals from the fields of planning, finance, real estate, and utilities is open to the public – and open to innovative ideas that benefit the region’s economy.

Featured Presentations

Featured Project

Decas School Redevelopment Study

Learn more about our work

Chapter 43D

Streamlining permitting processes for priority economic development projects.

Local Business and Marketing Guides

Showcasing the local business development opportunities and markets available within our towns.

Business Park Development

Enabling job creation through access to necessary infrastructure in our region's commercial parks.

Redevelopment Plans

Enabling job creation through access to necessary infrastructure in our region's commercial parks.


RESC Members

MEMBER Affiliation
Alan Slavin Town of Wareham
Angela Johnston Bristol Community College
Bill Kenney City of Fall River
Catherine Feerick City of Attleboro
Chris McMillan
Christine Joiner TACC
Cody Haddad Dartmouth
Debra Beavin EDA
Derek Santos NBEDC
Dick Shafer City of Taunton
Holly McNamara Town of Somerset
Ben Jones UMASS Dartmouth
Jack Lank United COC
Janis Akerstrom Middleborough CED Director
Jay Pateakos MassDevelopment SE
Jennifer Menard Bristol Community College
Jim Walsh Town of Carver
Kara Griffin Tri-Town COC
Ken Buckland Town of Wareham
Lloyd Mendes Town of Somerset
Lyle Pirnie Manager of Economic Development, North Attleboro
Mary Ellen DeFrias MassDevelopment
Mayor Paul Coogan City of Fall River
Mayor Jon Mitchell City of New Bedford
Mayor Paul Heroux City of Attleboro
Mayor Shaunna O'Connell City of Taunton
Michael Lorenco Town of Mattapoisett
Patrick Sullivan City of New Bedford
Paul DiGiuseppe Town of Norton
Paul Foley Town of Fairhaven
Representative Bill Straus
Rick Kidder One SouthCoast COC
Robert Rezendes Bristol Community College
Shelley Cardoos Entrepreneurship for All
Susan Murray SEED
Tracey Costa
Valerie Glynn Cranberry Country
President Wheaton College
William Roth City of Taunton

Past Meeting Documents